My First Experience with British Sign Language


 

Hey there!  I have a quick story I wanted to share with you guys.  Today I decided to go up to a town called North Berwick  just to do some site seeing.  We went into a pub and when we sat down I noticed that there were two men sitting across from us that were Deaf.   I was immediately fascinated because I’ve been wanting to meet a Deaf person since I got to Scotland.  So I went on over to say hello.  They were both extremely friendly and happy to chat with me.  When I walked up I used the sign for America to make it clear that I don’t sign British Sign Language.  Communicating with them was hard!  We definitely used different sign languages.  But we were able to communicate some, and I learned that their names were George and Allan.  It took a while to get their names because they used a very different system to fingerspell words-they use both hands instead of one.  I found out that they weren’t from here, that George had just-well, this sign, comes from the ring on the finger, it’s the sign they use for marriage-he had married here.  I thought this sign was interesting.  And, what else did I learn?  Oh!  This sign, this means grew up.  I also learned a new phrase that I wanted to show you, I was really excited to learn this.  My name is Mary, it’s nice to meet you.  Here’s how you sign it.  My name is Mary, it’s nice to meet you.

3 thoughts on “My First Experience with British Sign Language

Leave a Reply

